USGS - science for a changing world

National Wetlands Research Center

All USGS NWRC only
Home | Staff Index | Contact Us | Jobs | Site Index 

USGS Team Receives Service to America Medal

A team of many USGS scientists has received a 2006 Service to America Medal for their search and rescue work in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. The scientists, led by Tom Casadevall, USGS regional director in Denver, Colo., are from the USGS National Wetlands Research Center in Lafayette, La., and the USGS Louisiana Water Science Center in Baton Rouge, La. Casadevall and representatives of the team received the medal in Washington, D.C., on September 27 in recognition of both their humanitarian and scientific work immediately after Hurricane Katrina hit the Louisiana coast in late August 2005.

The team is one of nine recipients of Service to America Medals, sponsored by the Atlantic Media Company and the nonprofit, nonpartisan Partnership for Public Service to recognize the accomplishments of America’s public servants. Medals are given for significant contributions by Federal employees based on their commitment and innovation as well as on the impact of their work in addressing the needs of the nation.

Partnership for Public Service Article

NWRC Press Release

Hurricane Search and Rescue Photos

Video interview with Tom Casadevall about the Hurricane Katrina Response Team (WMV format, 7.84 MB)

News Coverage:

More information on USGS/NWRC hurricane-related activities

Image of USGS Hurricane Response team

Representing USGS at the Service to America Medal award ceremony September 27, 2006, in Washington, D.C. were: front row, from left, Charles R. Demas, P. Patrick Leahy, Thomas J. Casadevall, James B. Johnston, George J. Arcement, Garron B. Ross, and Benton D. McGee; back row, from left, Gaye S. Farris, Craig Conzelmann, Gregory J. Smith, Deborah A. Norling, Wayne Norling, William R. Jones, and Robert E. Doyle (USGS photo).

Image of Service to America Award Recipients

Recipients of the Service to America Medals were: from left, Mark S. Ward, International Affairs Medal; Ambassador Nancy Powell, Homeland Security Medal; Dr. Nancy Cox, Federal Employee of the Year; Christina Sanford, Call to Service Medal; Dr. Norden E. Huang, Science and Environmental Medal; Ron McNeal, National Security Medal; W. Martin Harrell, Justice and Law Enforcement Medal; Dr. William D. Phillips, Career Achievement Medal; and Dr. Thomas Casadevall (representing the USGS Hurricane Response team), Citizen Services Medal (photo courtesy of Partnership for Public Service).

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Web Site Technical Issues:
Web Site Content Questions:
Page Last Modified: Monday, 28-Sep-2015 14:02:16 EDT